Planning My Own Wedding: Trying On Wedding Dresses

A couple of weeks ago I booked an appointment with a dress maker so I could get the ball rolling. I had no idea what to expect and I was fortunate enough to have my friend Rochelle with me. Moral support goes a long way! This is what went down…

say-yes-to-the-dress-350x230__121206163638

When I set up my appointment with the dress maker I asked if I could bring along some photos of a dress I like. So, I arrived with my photos, expecting to show them to the lady, chat a little bit, look at some fabric, watch her draw a design and then leave.

I sat down and we began to look at the photos together and discussed some of the details. “Why don’t you go behind the curtain and put on the gown,” she said. That was when I realised I would be trying on dresses. I was not emotionally prepared for that. Actually, I wasn’t prepared for that in any way.

Wearing nothing but undies and a gown, I stood on a little platform in front of a giant mirror surrounded by some of the most beautiful wedding dresses I have ever seen. The dress designer, Michelle, selected a few dresses that each had an element we had discussed (some had fabric I liked, some had little details we had spoken about and some had the silhouette I liked). I spent over an hour trying on all the dresses she picked out, making decisions along the way. With all the decisions in mind, Michelle drew a picture of the dress and it was absolutely perfect!

Obviously I’m not going to say anything about the material, cut, colour or silhouette because my fiance is sitting next to me and I want to keep my dress design a surprise for my guests too!

Here are a few tips to keep in mind when trying on wedding dresses for the first time:

1. Be prepared. If you’re meeting with a dress maker, don’t be a rookie like me. Ask if you are going to try on dresses so that you can be prepared for the experience. Shave your legs (which I didn’t), tie up your hair so it’s out of the way, wear decent underwear and be ready to be seen with no clothes on. It’s awkward but if you’re prepared for it, it’s a little more bearable.

2. Take a friend. I was so happy to have Rochelle with me. She made sure I was covered up and I felt so comfortable having her there. A bonus is that she is a fashion designer so having her opinion was extremely valuable to me. Select someone that knows the style you are going for, not someone that will butt heads with you (if you have ever seen an episode of “Say Yes To The Dress” you’ll know what I’m talking about).

3. Know what you like. I had some photos of a dress I really like, which was a great starting point. There are infinite fabrics, cuts, styles and silhouettes, so having an idea, even a vague one, of what you like will help you and the dress designer know where to start.

4. Be open to things you may not like. I tried on everything. Some cuts I knew were going to look weird, but I tried them on anyway. Those were the ones that had something else about them that I liked a lot. Regardless of the way a “funny looking” dress looks, it will ultimately help you make your decision at the end of the day.

Next week: Glen and I hosted our engagement party this weekend and it was the best afternoon we have ever had! We had so much fun, so I’d love to share some photos and a couple of party planning tips!

KellyMole (52 of 68)

Kelly Jane Mole is an on-the-day wedding co-ordinator that recently got engaged to the man of her dreams. She will be blogging about her wedding planning journey in the hopes that readers will learn something from her triumphs and mistakes. Follow the Illuminate My Event blog to see more!

2 Comments

Filed under Planning My Own Wedding, Uncategorized, Wedding, Wedding Wednesdays

2 responses to “Planning My Own Wedding: Trying On Wedding Dresses

  1. Reblogged this on The Van Dusen Mansion and commented:
    What a great look into the experience of trying on wedding dresses! Very helpful for those first time brides looking to begin the planning process!

Leave a Reply

