My Biggest Wedding Planning Tip

I’m getting married in one week. Sometimes I can’t believe how quickly time has flown. Sometimes I wonder why we didn’t start doing certain tasks sooner and other times I am so thankful that we have been so organised.

As a wedding co-ordinator planning my own wedding, I’ve been asked by some friends what my number one wedding planning tip is. So, although I still have one week to go, I think I’ve figured it out…

G&K-46

My biggest wedding planning tip is: Make lists of everything!

It really isn’t rocket science. Having a list of things to do will help you to feel on top of everything. Planning a wedding is a big deal and there are lots of things to think about: the wedding itself is the biggest event you will probably ever host with your spouse; your wedding day is the first day of being married to the love of your life (that in itself is extremely emotional and overwhelming); for most couples, a honeymoon follows the wedding and as you may know, going away on holiday has enough stress of its own (planning a holiday, taking time off work, making sure your house is looked after while you’re gone, to name a few); and lastly, for couples who only move in together after the wedding, you’ve got the added stress of moving house right after a big event and holiday.

So, with all of these crazy events taking place at the same time, you are bound to feel overwhelmed. I have very diligently created lists of things to do so we don’t feel like we can’t handle things. At the beginning of our engagement I started using a wedding planning checklist. It’s a generic checklist of things to do each month. Obviously, the closer we got to our wedding date, the more personal touches we added to the wedding and therefore the more things we have had to add to our list. So, I’ve kept our checklist up to date so that at all times, so that we know what needs to be done. There is also the added bonus of the feeling of satisfaction when you can tick something off your list. Or is that just me?

To let you into my world, here is an example of the checklists I have at the moment:

1. A list of things to do in the next week (emails to send, people to pay, decisions to make)

2. A list of things to buy now

3. A list of things that can only be bought the day before the wedding

4. A list of decor items we intend to make this weekend with our bridal party (and which box each item will be put in)

5. A list of things to pack for honeymoon (including all the necessary documents for our flights)

It doesn’t matter how you create your lists – by writing things in a notebook, by using an app like Wunderlist, or by using spreadsheets – just do it! The last thing you want is to wake up in the middle of the night, remembering four things you still need to do. That results in sleepless nights running through mental checklists which can result in a stressed out, sick bride.

I can’t wait to share more tips, stories, and photos after my wedding!

Leave a comment

Filed under Planning My Own Wedding, Wedding

Leave a Reply

