Meet My Bridesbabes

I’ve been saying all along that I can’t wait to start blogging about our wedding and sharing all our incredible photos that were taken by Bruce and Rebecca from Love Made Visible. One of the blog posts I am most excited about it this one, so I thought it would be appropriate to start with it: Meet My Bridesbabes.

In an unconventional twist, Glen and I each chose our 9 closest friends to stand with us and share our day with us in a more intimate way. I don’t think I’ve ever seen such a big bridal party and we had a lot of people say things like “Whoa, that’s a lot of people!” and “Why didn’t you just choose 4 or 5 of them?”. Well, to tell you the truth, when you have 9 best friends that you love equally, it is literally impossible to choose which of them should be given the title “Bridesbabe” and which should be guests at your wedding. So, we decided to make our jobs easier by choosing them all, and that is a decision I will never regret.

Here are a few things you should know before I introduce you to my 9 favourite friends:

1. They each chose their own dresses. All I had to do was give them a colour palette and make sure all 9 outfits worked well together. Our wedding theme was “pink and gold” with a woodlands backdrop so each girl wore a slightly different shade of light pink with nude heels.

2. Half the bridesbabes don’t live in Cape Town so I was incredibly impressed (and surprised) by my amazing kitchen tea (which I will blog about at a later stage) and how well organised it was. I can’t imagine how difficult it must be to plan things amongst a group of 9 people who live on different continents. Well done, ladies!

3. There are some incredible photos of all of us getting ready on my wedding day. Those photos remind me of what I visualised for that morning: my closest friends all huddled together, laughing, drinking tea and helping each other look beautiful. And that’s what happened. The lack of “professional” beauticians making the girls look good was exactly what we all needed to relax and have a calm morning. (Side note: Kelly did my make up and my lovely friend Nicole did my hair).

With all of that in mind, please have a look at my beautiful bridesbabes:

Glen_Kelly_lovemadevisible-4 Glen_Kelly_lovemadevisible-5 Glen_Kelly_lovemadevisible-10 Glen_Kelly_lovemadevisible-25 Glen_Kelly_lovemadevisible-84 Glen_Kelly_lovemadevisible-121 Glen_Kelly_lovemadevisible-140 Glen_Kelly_lovemadevisible-142 Glen_Kelly_lovemadevisible-165 Glen_Kelly_lovemadevisible-518I would love to tell you a little bit about each bridesbabe…

Glen_Kelly_lovemadevisible-172This is Katie, my newest best friend. We tend to bond over tea and a lot of talking. Although we only met a few months ago, we have gotten to know each other so quickly and I have instantly fallen in love with this girl’s heart of gold and her passion for Jesus.

Glen_Kelly_lovemadevisible-173Megan is the bravest person I know because she has absolutely no fear. She is also the type of person who says “I’m so unfit” and then comes first in an 8km trail run. Megan inspires me in so many ways and I am so thankful to have such a bubbly and lovable friend like her.

Glen_Kelly_lovemadevisible-174Candi is the friend I see most often and I think we’ve struck a good balance between deep conversations and silly chats filled with a lot of laughs. Candi is the person who reminds me that the sky is the limit and that I should never settle for second best. She is also flippen gorgeous!

Glen_Kelly_lovemadevisible-176Every short girl needs a tall friend and luckily Lauren-Kate is more than just that. Our husbands grew up together and Lauren-Kate welcomed me into their little group almost six years ago. She is one of the most creative, artistic and articulate people I have ever known and her life is basically one big Pinterest board.

Glen_Kelly_lovemadevisible-177

Rochelle is the nicest person in the world and she has never been mean to anyone. I really admire her ability to love everyone and tolerate the most annoying people (usually me). She also made my veil and added the beautiful detail to the bottom of my dress and I am so thankful!

Glen_Kelly_lovemadevisible-182

This is Lauren, my sister, officially! Lauren is also the most clever person I will ever know and her way of pursuing her dreams is such an inspiration to me. She is beautiful, friendly, witty and humble and I wish she didn’t live in England so I could see her more! Glen_Kelly_lovemadevisible-184

This is my other sister, Jess, well almost. Jess is marrying my brother in August and I can’t wait to call this girl my sister. She is lovely and she isn’t afraid to tell it like it is. I love that about her!

Glen_Kelly_lovemadevisible-185This is my Babe of Honour #1, Welmie. We met 17 years ago when Welmie and her family moved next door to my family. We spent most of our time hanging out at the park and pretending to be Spice Girls, stuffing our bras with socks and watching every Olsen twins movie we could find. To this day, we share an unbreakable bond and we just “get” each other in a way that we can’t explain. Welmie is extremely organised and I have no doubt that she is one of the main reasons all the bridesbabes were calm and relaxed.

Glen_Kelly_lovemadevisible-178My Babe of Honour #2 is Kelly. We met at a preschool holiday club and she was the first person I had ever met who shared my name (until then I thought I was the only Kelly in the world). Our friendship didn’t start well but we have certainly made the most of the Kelly bond and remained best friends for years. I have many fond memories of giggling in class while passing notes around instead of focusing on our work.

Wedding gifts

My wedding gift to my lovely ladies was their gold earrings. Half the group had long dangly gold leaf earrings while the other half had gold studs in the shape of leaves. I really wish I could’ve kept their gifts because they were so beautiful. Added to the earrings was a little pack of things they could use during the day (like pain killers, gum, an energy bar, etc) and a special note from me.

Glen_Kelly_lovemadevisible-149 Glen_Kelly_lovemadevisible-152 Glen_Kelly_lovemadevisible-154 Glen_Kelly_lovemadevisible-156 Glen_Kelly_lovemadevisible-162Aren’t these girls awesome?

Glen_Kelly_lovemadevisible-582

1 Comment

Filed under Planning My Own Wedding, Wedding

One response to “Meet My Bridesbabes

  1. Well written blog post, beautiful bride, gorgeous girls and great photos to savour the happy memories!

Leave a Reply

